Run to Write
Run to Write Poetry
Dream
6
0:00
-1:18

Dream

Poem Out Loud
6

We have a guest today on RWC- Brindsley Hughes.

He will be reading the poem Dream from the book Run to Boston.

Enjoy and keep chasing your dreams!


Poem of the Day:

             Dream 

To run the Boston Marathon
It was going to be great! 
I was eager to run in 2003 
Yet my body and mind didn’t agree 

The pain took over 
It consumed my days
I wanted to keep running
Yet I couldn’t find a way 

The shame was rooted deep 
Yet God had a plan 
He gave me the strength to look inward
Face my fears and not hide
He never left my side    

To follow my dream
I would need to let go
The burdens I was still carrying
Too many, I know 

I held tight to courage
And began to unpack 
My load getting lighter
As my runs were coming back

I will not give up on my dream 
I am brave, strong, and free 
I choose love 
And connection is key  
6 Comments
Run to Write
Run to Write Poetry
Welcome!
Where Movement & Writing Meet.
Listen in on Thursdays for a poem or story to energize, inspire, and get you moving.
Hi, I'm Julie B. Hughes— a mother runner, poet, writer, licensed physical therapist, and self-published author. Thank you for being here and listening in.