Run to Write
Run to Write Poetry
First Bright Spot
2
0:00
-1:18

First Bright Spot

2

Poem of the Day:

First Bright Spot

Light vest flashing bright 
Hat with a light
Reflective vest with phone 
Flashlight on, I’m in the zone

I got all the lights so I glow   
A 50 minute run in the dark, go! 
Roads clear though snow is coming
No matter, my mind-body humming  

I’m alert to cars as they pass
In and out of driveways fast 
Gas stations, stop signs 
Do they even see me shine?

A truck speeds out of the lot 
doesn’t bother to spot 
Me running on the side 
He zooms out in his ride  

I’m flashing light as I run 
Can’t they see me I’m like the sun 
Oh well must have somewhere to be
I keep my eyes alert on the road see

A snowplow rumbles past 
Gives a beep beep blast 
I give a wave fast 
I’m noticed at last!  
2 Comments
Run to Write
Run to Write Poetry
Welcome!
Where Movement & Writing Meet.
Listen in on Thursdays for a poem or story to energize, inspire, and get you moving.
Hi, I'm Julie B. Hughes— a mother runner, poet, writer, licensed physical therapist, and self-published author. Thank you for being here and listening in.