Run to Write
Run to Write Poetry
Free
10
0:00
-0:56

Free

Poem out loud
10

Good morning!

This Thursday I’m thankful for the crescent moon, the groundhog in our backyard teaching me, and the lessons from the book Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer.

Today’s poem will be read by Delaney Hughes. I’m so grateful she will be reading Free and she turns eight years old today. Happy Birthday, Delaney!

Tell me what are you thankful for?


   FREE

I feel secure, free
Wide open spaces
nothing can stop me. 

Gain ground on the roads
I feel at home 
ready to fly
A bird soaring high.

Forward motion
beats the commotion 
Fresh air even if it's cold 
I am bold.  

Thanks for reading Run to Write! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

10 Comments
Run to Write
Run to Write Poetry
Welcome!
Where Movement & Writing Meet.
Listen in on Thursdays for a poem or story to energize, inspire, and get you moving.
Hi, I'm Julie B. Hughes— a mother runner, poet, writer, licensed physical therapist, and self-published author. Thank you for being here and listening in.