Run to Write
Run to Write Poetry
Take a Chance
12
0:00
-6:06

Take a Chance

Poem out loud and last sneak peek of upcoming book!
12

Good morning and thank you for listening in.

Today will be the last sneak peek of Staring Down a Dream: A Mom, a Marathoner, a Mission because next Thursday it will be out in the world! It’s definitely been a marathon writing this book!

Out in the world March 1, 2023!

But first…a poem!


            Take a Chance 

Lace up your sneakers
Take a chance 
step out the door
Run a block and back
Take a chance 
Run two or three more. 

Take a chance
run two or three times a week
Take a chance
add three or four times more
Your building a practice, 
it's okay to walk—
Consistency is not a chore.

Take a chance
sign up for a race
Take a chance
a 5K, 10K, or more
Believe in yourself
It's your time—
to soar. 

Now the Introduction of Staring Down a Dream: A Mom, a Marathoner, a Mission:

You’ve got to be kidding me. The bus driver is lost?

My mind was racing as I fidgeted in my seat, my legs sticking to the black pigmented leather. I looked down at my watch. We had been on the road for 40 minutes. I was told it would take 30 minutes to get to the start location. We should already be at the athlete’s village getting warmed up and taking in the experience.

I watched the runners sitting ahead of me, looking around, panicking as they whispered, “This isn’t the right way.” “We should be here by now.” “Oh my gosh, he is lost!”

Oh no! We are lost. I’m not going to get to the start. I am not going to run Boston.

My brain went to the worst-case scenario and my inner judge showed up.

Why did you pick this bus, out of all the buses in line you picked this one. You should’ve picked a different bus.

GRR, like I was supposed to know the bus driver was going to get lost. I’d been waiting 20 years to run this race, of course, something like this would happen. I was in-between emotions.

Do I cry or laugh?

I looked around at the 48 other runners possibly thinking the same thing. I looked over at my bus buddy and her eyes were closed, resting. She was relaxed. She had no idea what was going on.

Do I tell her? No, we will get there, just be patient, it will be fine.

I took some deep breaths.

Relax, Julie, relax, don’t freak out. You will get to the race today. You will be right on time. Ugh, I can’t believe this is happening. Here I go again... right back to the negative.

I looked out the window trying to focus on something else— something to shift my mindset.

Look at the trees. Oh yes, the red and orange leaves are gorgeous.

This distracts me for a bit and then we come to a stop.

What’s going on?

I craned my head over the seat in front of me and peeked over. Through the bus window, I spotted a police car blocking the road motioning the bus driver to stop. My mind begged for the police officer to let us through.

We’re all runners. We need to get to the start. We’re late. Please let us through.

A runner stepped off the bus, a perfect time to relieve himself as the policeman approached. I didn’t hear much of the conversation other than, “No, I’m sorry. I can’t let you through.” A few runners ahead of me shouted, “We need to get off this bus.” “The cop is not going to let us through.” “Do you trust this guy getting us to the start line? He is lost!”

I panicked.

What should I do? I better get off too.

“We can walk and find our way to the start,” another runner announced. I stood up to see runners lining up in the aisle waiting to get off.

I better go with them.

I figured it was better to be with a group to find our way. I looked at my bus buddy sitting next to me and told her I was going to walk. She shrugged and moved her legs to the side to let me out. I slipped past her and joined the line of runners making their way off the bus. My stomach flip-flopped at what was occurring. This was not in the plan yet I refused to let this ruin my first Boston Marathon experience. I would get to the start line.

Do not panic, breathe and relax, you are not alone.


Join us: Write Together Friday is tomorrow at 11 am (EST). Click the button below to meet us over on zoom.

Write Together Friday

12 Comments
Run to Write
Run to Write Poetry
Welcome!
Where Movement & Writing Meet.
Listen in on Thursdays for a poem or story to energize, inspire, and get you moving.
Hi, I'm Julie B. Hughes— a mother runner, poet, writer, licensed physical therapist, and self-published author. Thank you for being here and listening in.