Run to Write
Run to Write
Take note
15
0:00
-2:53

Take note

beavers teach us
15

I shared a story on Monday about my encounter with beavers on Saturday’s long run. I was eager to show my children.

We got up early and I made sure to bring my phone. We were rewarded with a front-row seat to beavers swimming, moving along the bank, and a playful kit slapping her tail.

We marveled at their swimming ability, teamwork, and persistence. These creatures are a gift.


              Take Note

we stand 
on the bank
admire their hard work  
eyes fixed on the water 
no morning commotion 
only 
a whisper 
I wonder 
will she show up? 
I blink 
a brown head appears 
my children pause 
kneel on the grass 
to watch 
Silent
Still 
happy to witness
perseverance 
hard work
and adaptability  
beavers 
teach us...
will we pay attention? 

You’re invited to write together Mondays. Click the button below to join our Zoom room. We begin at 11 am (EST).

Write Together Monday


Welcome new subscribers to Run to Write…Diane B, wellcarneiro, Raymond, gtifford, Kelly W. and Sandi. We’re thrilled you are here. Please reply to this message if you have any questions about the write together Mondays.

I’m happy to reply to my emails. :)

Thank you

for the shout out on notes. It was super cool of you. I look forward to reading your newsletter.

Thank you, Ramona, Tracy, Jeanne, Kelly, Athena, and Loni for a great start to our Fall Run to Write Club. I’m really looking forward to moving and writing with you all.

Thank you to my husband Jeff for getting up early to watch beavers with us.

Thank you

for sharing your potato love while running and what works for you.

Thank you so much

for giving me another runner (Pam Smith) to learn more about and sharing your knowledge & stories each week.

Discussion about this podcast

Run to Write
Run to Write
Welcome to The Run to Write Podcast: Where Movement & Writing Meet.
Listen on Thursdays for a poem or story to energize, inspire, and get you moving & writing.
Thank you for being here.
Connect with me at my website: www.juliebhughes.com
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Julie B. Hughes